Group Created with Sketch.
Volume 23 No. 8
  • Created with Sketch.
  • Created with Sketch.
  • Created with Sketch.

Forum: An update on SBJ events; how we’re staying in contact

To safeguard the health and well-being of our attendees, sponsors, partners and staff, we are postponing the 2020 Sports Business Awards from May 20 to a date in the fall. With this additional time, we will focus our efforts on producing an unforgettable show that will commemorate the spirit and resiliency of the sports industry. We will communicate any changes to this year’s event as soon as they are determined, and we look forward to celebrating you, your organization and the accomplishments of the industry.

STAY CONNECTED: I assure you that we will continue to create, print and deliver Sports Business Journal every week. We have been in communication with our outside printing services and the U.S. Postal Service and we do not anticipate any changes in service. However, we understand that with so many of us working from home, you may want to change the delivery address of your issue. To do that, please go to www.sportsbusinessdaily.com/Member/Login.aspx or call 800-829-9839. In addition, we want to be sure that all of our subscribers are reading SBJ during the crisis. For the time being, we are emailing an easy-to-read PDF of the entire issue each Monday morning. If you would like to make sure you’re on the distribution list, please email help@sportsbusinessdaily.com. Please understand that we will only use your email to send you notification of the issue and will not share with any third parties.

STAY CONNECTED, PART II: The inaugural CAA World Congress Comes To You was held March 25, and we were pleased with our first effort at bringing you a virtual conference of content and networking. The event exceeded our expectations and we received very positive feedback. For this veteran conference programmer, it certainly was a unique experience, seeing the virtual “networking,” introductions and real-time feedback on speakers and the interviews. Because of various complicating factors, all of the interviews were recorded in the days leading up to the event, but our breakout sessions were live and offered real-time analysis and perspective and back and forth with attendees.

Overall, it gave us something to build on, and we’re excited about the potential. You will see highlights from the event in our April 6 issue, and we are hosting our second CAA World Congress Comes To You on April 8, from 11:45 a.m.-3 p.m. ET. If you have questions, thoughts or comments about topics, content and networking, please let me know. These virtual events have become a priority in our efforts to keep the industry connected and to provide a platform for professionals like you to keep conducting business.

Stay safe, stay healthy and continue to reach out and check in.

 

First Look podcast, with Abe's thoughts on how corporations are handling the revenue pressure on the industry, at the 24:19 mark:

Abraham Madkour can be reached at amadkour@sportsbusinessjournal.com.

 

NEWSROOM LINEUP AND CONTACT INFO

During a time when the need to communicate effectively and quickly is greater than ever, we wanted to make sure you have our most up-to-date editorial contact information and beat responsibilities. Please use this as your directory to our newsroom.

 

Editors:

David Bourne 704-973-1417
dbourne@sportsbusinessjournal.com

Richard Bush 704-973-1424
rbush@sportsbusinessjournal.com

Betty Gomes 704-973-1439
In-Depths
bgomes@sportsbusinessjournal.com

Austin Karp 704-973-1519
Newsletters
akarp@sportsbusinessdaily.com

Ted Keith 704-973-1416
tkeith@sportsbusinessjournal.com

Reporters:

David Broughton 704-973-1433
Research
dbroughton@sportsbusinessjournal.com

Mark J. Burns 212-500-0722
Hockey (NHL, NWHL), soccer (MLS, USL, NWSL)
mburns@sportsbusinessjournal.com

Karn Dhingra 713-395-9605
Sports facilities (design, construction and operation), fan experience, primary and secondary ticketing
kdhingra@sportsbusinessjournal.com

Ben Fischer 212-500-0706
Football (NFL, XFL), Olympics (IOC, USOPC, Team USA NGBs)
bfischer@sportsbusinessjournal.com

Bill King 704-973-1412
Gambling, education, combat sports
bking@sportsbusinessjournal.com

Terry Lefton 212-500-0718
Marketing and sponsorship
tlefton@sportsbusinessjournal.com 

John Lombardo 312-873-2217
Basketball (NBA, WNBA), golf (PGA Tour, USGA, PGA of America, LPGA)
jlombardo@sportsbusinessjournal.com

Bret McCormick 704-973-1425
Tennis, general assignment, research
bmccormick@sportsbusinessjournal.com 

Liz Mullen 310-322-8711
Labor unions and agents
lmullen@sportsbusinessjournal.com

John Ourand 212-500-0723
Media companies, linear, digital and social
jourand@sportsbusinessjournal.com

Eric Prisbell  214-706-7101
Baseball (MLB, MiLB), technology
eprisbell@sportsbusinessjournal.com

Chris Smith 212-500-0612
Entertainment and pop culture (film, TV, music, fashion), Olympics 
crsmith@sportsbusinessjournal.com 

Michael Smith 704-973-1418
Colleges
msmith@sportsbusinessjournal.com

Adam Stern 704-973-1432
Motorsports (NASCAR, IndyCar, F1), Esports
astern@sportsbusinessdaily.com