Group Created with Sketch.
Volume 21 No. 1
  • Created with Sketch.
  • Created with Sketch.
  • Created with Sketch.

Sports Business Awards nominees

Fox Sports leads field with four nominations

Here are the 80 nominees that will contend for honors in 15 categories at the seventh annual Sports Business Awards. The winners will be announced at a ceremony May 21 at the New York Marriott Marquis in Times Square.

Fox Sports is up for four awards, leading a list of 62 nominated companies. NBC Sports Group and the National Hockey League are nominees in three categories, and 11 others are up for two awards.

The 2014 nominees and winners are being recognized for excellence and outstanding achievement in the business of sports for the period from March 1, 2013, to Feb. 28, 2014.

Each of the nominees will be featured in a Sports Business Awards preview issue to be published May 19.

A panel of sports business executives will study the nominations and serve as category judges. Those executives and members representing SportsBusiness Journal/Daily will evaluate the nominees and determine the winners in 13 of the 15 categories by private vote.

The other two categories, Sports Executive of the Year and Athletic Director of the Year, will be judged solely by the editorial staff of SportsBusiness Journal/Daily.

Sports Executive of the Year
Gary Bettman, National Hockey League
Randy Freer, Fox Sports
Don Garber, Major League Soccer
Kevin Plank, Under Armour
Vivek Ranadivé, Sacramento Kings

Athletic Director of the Year
Mike Alden, University of Missouri
Greg Byrne, University of Arizona
Judy Rose, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Kevin White, Duke University
Scott Woodward, University of Washington

Sports Team of the Year
Boston Red Sox
Chicago Blackhawks
Golden State Warriors
Portland Timbers
Seattle Seahawks
U.S. Ski and Snowboard Association

Sports League of the Year
Atlantic Coast Conference
Major League Baseball
Major League Soccer
National Hockey League
PGA Tour

Sports Event of the Year
2013 Breeders’ Cup World Championships
2014 Bridgestone NHL Winter Classic
2014 Waste Management Phoenix Open
The ONE: Mayweather vs. Canelo, presented by Showtime Networks in
partnership with Golden Boy Promotions and Mayweather Promotions
Super Bowl XLVIII

Best in Sports Media
CBS Sports
Fox Sports
National Football League
NBC Sports Group

Best in Sports Television
CBS Sports
ESPN Films
Fox Sports
NBA TV, managed by the NBA and Turner Sports
NBC Sports Group

Best in Digital Sports Media
Fox Sports
NBC Sports Group
Sporting News Media
Time Inc. Sports Group/
Sports Illustrated
Turner Sports

Best in Talent Representation and Management
CAA Sports
Excel Sports Management
Lagardère Unlimited US
Relativity Sports
Wasserman Media Group

Best in Corporate Consulting, Marketing and Client Services
GMR Marketing
The Marketing Arm
Optimum Sports
Team Epic
Wasserman Media Group

Best in Property Consulting, Sales and Client Services
CAA Sports
IMG Worldwide
Premier Partnerships
Sports Media Advisors
Best in Sports Event and Experiential Marketing
Aquarius Sports and Entertainment
GMR Marketing
LeadDog Marketing Group

Sports Sponsor of the Year
BMW of North America
Liberty Mutual Group
Pepsi Beverages Co.
Procter & Gamble

Sports Facility of the Year
Circuit of the Americas
Dodger Stadium
Husky Stadium
Madison Square Garden

Best in Sports Technology
MLB Advanced Media
Sporting Innovations