Group Created with Sketch.
Volume 20 No. 42
  • Created with Sketch.
  • Created with Sketch.
  • Created with Sketch.

Faces and Places: NSSA annual awards

Broadcasters, writers honored

The National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association held its annual awards weekend May 14-16 in Salisbury, N.C. Among the honorees at the awards banquet were Mike Tirico (left) of ESPN/ABC, presented the National Sportscaster of the Year Award by Curtis Strange.

Bob Ryan (left) of the Boston Globe, was inducted into the organization’s Hall of Fame. He's pictured here with master of ceremonies Karl Hales.

Peter King of Sports Illustrated was honored as National Sportswriter of the Year.

Nets talk up arena at Barclays

New Jersey Nets executives, center Brook Lopez, and Brooklyn Borough President Marty Markowitz visited Barclays’ Manhattan headquarters May 16 to give a presentation about the Barclays Center, which will open in Brooklyn in September 2012. From left: Barclays Co-CEO Jerry del Missier, Nets coach Avery Johnson, Lopez, Markowitz, Barclays Center developer Bruce Ratner, Nets CEO Brett Yormark, Nets GM Billy King, and Barclays CAO Gerard LaRocca.

NFLers attend screening of show on alma mater

Notable Long Beach Poly High School football alumni, including several NFL pros, turned out to help kick off Current TV’s new original documentary series “4th and Forever” at a screening in Los Angeles on May 11. The series chronicles the Long Beach Poly football team’s turbulent 2010 season. From left: Arizona Cardinals linebacker Pago Togafau, Jacksonville Jaguars tight end Marcedes Lewis, Washington Redskins wide receiver Terrence Austin, Current TV CEO Mark Rosenthal, Long Beach Poly football coach Raul Lara, Current TV executive vice chairman and co-founder Joel Hyatt, Pittsburgh Steelers cornerback Donovan Warren, former Houston Texans linebacker Darnell Bing, and former New England Patriots linebacker Willie McGinest.

Indy roars into Macy’s

Izod and Macy’s brought the Indianapolis 500’s 100th anniversary celebration to New York City with the grand opening of the “100 Years of Indy Racing, Fashion & Design” exhibit. At Macy’s Herald Square (from left): Allen Sirkin, Phillips-Van Heusen Corp. president and COO; 1969 Indy 500 winner Mario Andretti; Terry Lundgren, Macy’s chairman, president and CEO; and Manny Chirico, Phillips-Van Heusen CEO.

Newark welcomes the Liberty

The New York Liberty, Prudential Center and the city of Newark hosted a special “Welcome the Liberty to Newark” event May 19 at the arena. The Liberty will play at Prudential Center for the next three seasons while Madison Square Garden is refurbished. From left: Prudential Center Chairman and Managing Partner Jeff Vanderbeek, Newark Mayor Cory Booker, Liberty player Cappie Pondexter and MSG Sports President Scott O’Neil.

AEG hosts Urban Football Coaches Association

At the Urban Football Coaches Association’s 20th annual Coaches Clinic presented by Farmers Field and AEG at L.A. Live on May 14 (from left): John Wooten, chairman of the NFL’s Fritz Pollard Alliance; Tim Leiweke, AEG president and CEO; and Tony Wyllie, Washington Redskins EVP of communications.

Intrepid Salute for NASCAR’s France

NASCAR Chairman and CEO Brian France (right) received the Intrepid Salute Award from retired Marine Lt. Col. Tim Maxwell, an Iraq and Afghanistan veteran, May 26 at the USS Intrepid Sea, Air and Space Museum in New York City. ESPN and ABC Sports President George Bodenheimer also received the award, presented to corporate and community leaders for their support of military and veterans communities.

WNBA delivers careers panel of Inspiring Women

The WNBA tipped off its WNBA Cares Week of Service with an Inspiring Women Career Panel for students from the Young Women’s Leadership School of Brooklyn on May 23 at Brooklyn’s Williamsburg Community Center. From left: Renee Brown, WNBA chief of basketball operations and player relations; Washington Mystics guard Monique Currie; WNBA President Laurel Richie; Kristin Bernert, MSG Sports VP of marketing and operations, New York Liberty and platform development; and moderator Kristen Shaughnessy of NY1 News.

Big names populate Aspen Institute roundtable

The Aspen Institute sponsored an invitation-only roundtable May 13 in Washington, D.C., about the role of sports in society, specifically to discuss barriers that limit young people from participating in sports and what can be done about it. Front row (from left): Patrick McEnroe, Tab Ramos, Donna de Varona, Apolo Anton Ohno, Henry Cejudo and Mike Richter. Back row: Craig Robinson, Edwin Moses, Benita Fitzgerald Mosely, Nancy Hogshead-Makar, Tom Farrey and Tom McMillen.

Pop Warner hands out awards in Chicago

Pop Warner’s 51st annual All-American Scholastic Banquet took place May 28 in Chicago. From left: Arena Football League Commissioner Jerry Kurz, Warner Award recipient; New York Giants cornerback Prince Amukamara, Pop Warner National College Football Award recipient; Marcus Robinson, former Chicago Bears wide receiver, who accepted the NFL Team of the Year Award on behalf of the Bears; Tammy Williams, Chicago Bandits shortstop, Female Achievement Award recipient; Chicago Bears running back Matt Forte, Inspiration to Youth Award recipient; Pop Warner Little Scholars COO Mary FitzGerald; Pop Warner Little Scholars Executive Director Jon Butler.

College Football Hall of Fame inductees announced

The National Football Foundation announced the 2011 inductees into College Football Hall of Fame on May 17 at the Nasdaq OMX in Times Square. Attending the event (from left): Burke Magnus, ESPN senior vice president for college sports programming; Steve Hatchell, NFF president and CEO; Kit Morris, director of college sports marketing at Nike; and Charles Davis, analyst with NFL Network and Fox Sports.