Group Created with Sketch.
Volume 10 No. 24
  • Created with Sketch.
  • Created with Sketch.
  • Created with Sketch.

Kumar Sangakkara Takes Top Honors At LG ICC Awards

KUMAR SANGAKKARA was presented the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year at the LG ICC Awards in Colombo, Sri Lanka. He also picked up the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year award and the LG People's Choice trophy. Additionally, last month Sangakkara was named in the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year. Sangakkara was joined on the winners' list by India's VIRAT KOHLI, who took the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year, while West Indies' bowler SUNIL NARINE claimed his first ICC award after being named ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year. The full list of winners (ICC):

  • Cricketer of the Year (winning the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy): KUMAR SANGAKKARA (Sri Lanka)
  • Test Cricketer of the Year: KUMAR SANGAKKARA (Sri Lanka)
  • Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year: STAFANIE TAYLOR (West Indies)
  • ODI Cricketer of the Year: VIRAT KOHLI (India)
  • Emerging Cricketer of the Year: SUNIL NARINE (West Indies)
  • Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year: GEORGE DOCKRELL (Ireland)
  • Twenty20 Int'l Performance of the Year: RICHARD LEVI (South Africa)
  • T20I women's Cricketer of the Year: SARAH TAYLOR (England)
  • Spirit of Cricket Award: DANIEL VETTORI (New Zealand)
  • Umpire of the Year (winning the DAvid Shepard Trophy): KUMAR DHARMASENA
  • LG People's Choice: KUMAR SANGAKKARA (Sri Lanka)