Group Created with Sketch.
Volume 25 No. 28
  • Created with Sketch.
  • Created with Sketch.
  • Created with Sketch.

A Day In The Life: Lights Out Brand Founder & CEO Shawne Merriman

Former NFLer SHAWNE MERRIMAN is a busy man. Merriman works as an analyst for ESPN and L.A.'s KABC-TV, and is also training for a fight in November with the World Bare Knuckle Fighting Federation. Merriman is also busy growing his apparel company, Lights Out Brand. Merriman earned the "Lights Out" nickname after knocking four players out during a football game in high school. The name stuck, and Merriman was later able to acquire the licensing right to the phrase. Merriman walked THE DAILY through his typical day of training, and vetting potential employees who can help Lights Out in its own fight. "The concept of trying to get people to believe in the brand and the company and the name and the potential," Merriman said. "If I'm sitting in a board room, trying to convince certain people to come on board or to back our ideas or back the company, it's a fight."

6:30am: I'm normally up around 6:30 and out of the house. I'll get on the phone because a lot of people I have to talk with or do business with are on the East Coast, so I'll start my calls around 7:00.

Merriman is currently training for a bare knuckle boxing match on November 9
Photo: SHAWNE MARRIMAN

9:00am-12:00pm: I'll train for the fight from 9 to 12. That includes working out, weight lifting, putting on the gloves and getting some boxing in, and then also about an hour of recovery with stretching and any kind of massage therapy or anything I need. Right now it's really conditioning before I go into a training camp. I train at Unbreakable Performance Center in L.A. I'll go work out, lift weights, conditioning, mobility, agility stuff for an hour. I'll go put on the gloves, whether it's boxing or MMA style gloves. The closer I get to the fight I'll trim down the gloves or maybe even take them off and have a bare knuckle sparring match, probably three or four weeks before the fight. I'm normally out of there, showered and finished around 12:30-12:45. I'm on ESPN three days a week, so those training hours could change. If I'm on ESPN or I'm doing some kind of commentating, its from 9:00-10:00am, so then I'll train from 12:00-3:00pm. 

12:00-2:00pm: Since I'm eating pretty lean my favorite spot out here is Sweetgreen. It's like a super healthy spot and it's really quick where I can just stop by for 30-45 minutes and grab a bite. I always have people with me, I never eat lunch alone. I'll probably have to meet people since I'll try to get as many meetings in as I can. I'll have a lunch meeting then after that I'll go into an office meeting then I just bounce around from meeting to meeting.

2:00pm: I try to do my best, running the company day-to-day, and I've built it up where now I'm capable of bringing someone else in. I'll have an interview with someone in the licensing field to possibly bring them in and hire them for Lights Out. My financial company, Marcum LLP, is a big accounts firm but they have Perry Ellis and other huge companies over there as clients, so I'll hold most of my meetings there, along with some people who are mentors and advisors who will sit there and try to find the best person who fits Lights Out. No one knows I do this, literally all damn day. 

7:00pm: Normally I get done with the business part of my day around 6:30-7:00pm. I was reading something with JEFF BEZOS a few months ago where he was saying some of the things he regrets was not spending more time with friends or family. I'll try to just work 12 or 13 hours a day. Sometimes I'll have a meeting at 9:00-10:00pm if that's the only way someone can meet, but for the most part I'll try to remain as normal as possible, even if I just go catch up with friends for an hour. I'll slide in and out of friend dinners or do a big group dinner. I don't ever want to miss that, or be so secluded that I'm not becoming normal anymore. For me, if you work work work, come home and go right back to work work work, it's "what are you working this hard for if you can't live a normal life?" So I try to keep it as normal as possible by just doing regular things. I also have a show on KABC-7 for local Chargers postgame.

9:30pm: As soon as I get home I check my calendar for the next day. I literally live by my calendar. Don't expect me to remember anything, what time a meeting is or a call or anything. If it's not on my calendar it's 100% missed. Right after I check the calendar, I love crime shows. I love "FIRST 48," all the "FORENSIC FILES" stuff, "LAW & ORDER," anything dealing with those shows or anything like that is my favorite.

10:30pm: I try to get to bed at the latest by 10:30-11. If I'm up to about or past 11, it's pretty late because I like to get up early.

Know of someone who should be featured in "A Day in the Life"? Send a note to jcarpenter@sportsbusinessdaily.com.