Currency Converter

Enter amount in full numerical value, without currency symbol or commas (ex: 3000000).


SBD Global/July 18, 2013/Franchises

U.S.-Based IndyCar Team Andretti Autosport Joins Electric Racing Series Formula E

IndyCar team Andretti Autosport "will field a team in Formula E," according to Matt Beer of AUTOSPORT. The squad, run by '91 CART IndyCar champion Michael Andretti, "joins the Drayson and China teams among the first of the 10 outfits expected for Formula E's inaugural season" in '14. Andretti said, "It's an honor for Andretti Autosport to have been selected as one of the 10 founding Formula E teams for the inaugural season." Andretti also hinted that his IndyCar drivers could be involved in the Formula E program. The team currently fields Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti, James Hinchcliffe and E.J. Viso (AUTOSPORT, 7/17). AUTOWEEK reported Andretti Autosport "currently fields multiple entries in the IZOD IndyCar Series along with multiple campaigns in the Firestone Indy Lights, the Pro Mazda Championship and in the USF2000 National Championship." Andretti Autosport "becomes the third team to join the new Zero-Emission series which will see Formula cars racing on 10 city-center circuits all around the world." They join U.K.-based Drayson Racing, which recently "set the world electric land speed record," together with China Racing, headed up by Steven Lu (AUTOWEEK, 7/17).
Return to top

Related Topics:

Franchises, Europe, North America

Video Powered By - Castfire CMS Powered By - Sitecore

Report a Bug