Currency Converter

Enter amount in full numerical value, without currency symbol or commas (ex: 3000000).


SBD Global/July 12, 2013/Leagues and Governing Bodies

U.K. Rugby's Super League Will Be Reduced To 12 Teams Starting In '15

Super League rugby will be reduced to 12 teams for the '15 season, the clubs agreed at their annual meeting Wednesday, according to Scott Rutherford of the LONDON TIMES. Reorganization of the domestic game "took another step forward when the 14 Super League clubs ruled out a proposal" for a 10-team league. Only four clubs were "prepared to countenance the 10-team option, with Huddersfield Giants the only club strongly in favour." The clubs agreed last month to "cut their number from 14 and opted for a restoration of regular promotion and relegation in place of the current licensing system." Just two proposals "remain up for debate." One is for "two divisions of 12 with a straightforward system of promotion and relegation." The alternative is the option being pushed by the Rugby Football League that involves "Super League and a 12-team Championship being split after 23 rounds into three qualifying play-off groups of eight clubs." The clubs have asked the RFL to produce more detail about the latter option, "which was initially rejected overwhelmingly by the players before amendments were made" (LONDON TIMES, 7/11).
Return to top
Video Powered By - Castfire CMS Powered By - Sitecore

Report a Bug