SBD/December 5, 2011/Media

SI Names Mike Krzyzewski, Pat Summitt As '11 Sportsmen Of The Year

Sports Illustrated has named Duke men's basketball coach Mike Krzyzewski and Tennessee women's basketball coach Pat Summitt as its Sportsmen of the Year for '11, marking the first winner of the prestigious annual award to come from college sports since former North Carolina men's basketball coach Dean Smith in '97. The pair, the two winningest basketball coaches in NCAA Division I history, will be formally presented with the honor tomorrow night at an invitation-only ceremony in N.Y. "The voices of those who have been inspired by Pat Summitt and Mike Krzyzewski echo from everywhere and will continue for decades," said Time Inc. Sports Group Editor Terry McDonell. "What they have achieved through their coaching and, more importantly, their teaching, places them among history's transcendent figures." Similar to last year, tomorrow night's ceremony will also feature appearances by several former SI Sportsmen of the Year, including Chris Evert ('76), Sugar Ray Leonard ('81), Wayne Gretzky ('82), David Robinson ('03) and David Ortiz ('04) as part of an ongoing effort by the magazine to showcase prior winners and the exclusivity of the group. Krzyzewski and Summitt also join a rare group of Sportsmen of the Year who were coaches, joining Smith, Don Shula ('93), Joe Paterno ('86) and John Wooden ('72).
Return to top

Related Topics:

Media, Sports Illustrated

Video Powered By - Castfire CMS Powered By - Sitecore

Report a Bug