Group Created with Sketch.
Volume 20 No. 41
  • Created with Sketch.
  • Created with Sketch.
  • Created with Sketch.

People: Executive transactions

The New York Mets named Will Carafello to the newly created position of social media director. Carafello was marketing director for the New Jersey Devils.

The independent Pacific Association’s San Rafael Pacifics named Josh Jackson assistant general manager. Jackson was media relations and marketing manager of the Visalia Rawhide.

The Washington Nationals named Amanda Comak director of baseball media relations and new media. Comak was a reporter for The Washington Times.

Amber Cox stepped down as Phoenix Mercury president and chief operating officer.

The NCAA named JoAn Scott managing director for the Division I men’s basketball championship, effective after the 2014 Final Four.

The University of Wisconsin-Green Bay named Mary Ellen Gillespie athletic director, effective Dec. 2. Gillespie was associate athletic director for external relations at Bowling Green State University.

Western Illinois University hired Michael Jones as assistant athletic director of development. Jones was development director for the Centennial Honors College; the School of Distance Learning, International Studies and Outreach; and University Libraries.


Darlington Raceway named Chip Wile president. Wile was director of business development for the Motor Racing Network.

SMG named John Bolton, Gregg Olson and Larry Wilson regional vice presidents in its stadium and arena division.

SAE Advisory Group hired Peter Ruppe and Steve Frey.

The San Francisco 49ers promoted Ethan Casson to chief sales officer.


The LPGA promoted Tina Barnes-Budd to senior director of social media marketing and communications and Kelly Thesier to director of media communications.

The Tampa Bay Lightning promoted Erin Allison to marketing manager, Amy Bigelow to partnership activation manager, Brian Breseman to director of public relations, Kelsey Carlson to director of marketing, Tim Ennis to accounting manager, Heidi Hamlin to Lightning Foundation manager, Bree Maddocks to senior partnership activation manager, Nicole Parente to human resources manager, Jennifer Renspie to event marketing manager and Kelli Yeloushan to entertainment manager. The Lightning named Patrick Abts database marketing coordinator, Jenna DeBruler creative services coordinator, Michelle Gingras hockey reporter, Alayn Hornick event coordinator, Charlea Jackson human resources generalist, Caity Kauffman social media marketing manager, Kyla Laga account representative, Angela Parone senior event marketing coordinator, Scott Peterson staff accountant, Jason Pippi director of production operations, Matthew Samost business analyst, Caitlyn Schultz human resources assistant, Kimberly Seeley event manager, Scott Wilson event operations coordinator and Missy Zielinski beat writer.

Papa John’s named Bob Kraut senior vice president and chief marketing officer. Kraut was senior vice president of brand marketing and advertising for Arby’s.

Alison Lewis stepped down as Coca-Cola senior vice president of North America strategic marketing.

The Chicago Tribune named Rich Campbell beat reporter covering the Chicago Bears. Campbell was a reporter for The Washington Times.

The IOC named Jochen Färber head of IOC President Thomas Bach’s executive office. Färber was the managing director of Germany’s Olympic Training Center for Fencing.

Sporting Goods and Apparel
Nathan named Ben Lanza product developer.


Championship Bull Riding named Steve Rempelos chief marketing officer. Rempelos was executive vice president of Grit Rock Rodeo.

Steve Johnson resigned as executive director of the Bowling Proprietors’ Association of America.

Experient named Steve Schell sports strategic sales executive. Schell was vice president of sales for the San Diego Sports Commission.


Huddle hired John Dvoroznak as affiliate territory manager.

Hit the Grid Promotions named Earl Fannin vice president of operations.

Awards and Boards
The Baseball Writers’ Association of America named LaVelle Neal III president and Jose de Jesus Ortiz vice president.

USA Football named Dawn Aponte to its board of directors. Aponte is executive vice president for the Miami Dolphins.

The Women’s Sports Foundation named Melissa Stockwell the winner of the Wilma Rudolph Courage Award. Stockwell is a member of the U.S. paratriathlon team.

Hillerich & Bradsby Co. named David Heath, Kirk Perry and Doug Cobb to its board of directors.

The L.A. Sports Council named Karen Brodkin to its board of directors. Brodkin is executive vice president of business and legal affairs at Fox Sports Media Group.

Hibbett Sports named Jeff Rosenthal to its board of directors and Mickey Newsome non-executive chair.

The International Tennis Hall of Fame & Museum elected Katrina Adams, Vijay Amritraj, David Bell, Laurie Erlandson, David Ford, David Goulden, Charlie Pasarell, Barbara van Beuren and Stewart Wicht to its board of directors, and named Rosalind Walter, Peggy Woolard and John Reese life trustees.

Sport Chalet named Miki Berardelli to its board of directors.

The Columbia (Mo.) Public Schools Foundation named Andy Rawlings one of its outstanding alumni. Rawlings is executive vice president and chief operating officer for Learfield Sports.

Clemson University named Mark Richardson to its board of trustees. Richardson was formerly president of the Carolina Panthers.

The Green Bay Packers elected Thomas Olejniczak to their executive committee.

The Oregon Sports Authority named Chris McGowan, Jason Daughn, Sucheta Bal, Torre Chisholm, Larry Eldridge, Jim Richardson, Rodrigo Lopez and Jon George to its board of directors.

The U.S. Golf Association named Michael Cumberpatch the recipient of the 2014 Joe Dey Award.

People news
To have your personnel announcements included in the People section, please send information and photos to Brandon McClung at 120 W. Morehead St., Suite 310, Charlotte, NC 28202, or email them to Electronic photos must be a jpg or tiff file for Macintosh, 2.25 inches wide at 300 dpi. Color only, please. News items may also be sent via fax to (704) 973-1401. If you have questions, call (704) 973-1425.