Group Created with Sketch.
Volume 20 No. 42
  • Created with Sketch.
  • Created with Sketch.
  • Created with Sketch.

WISE announces Women of the Year award winners, plans to honor Ebersol

Nonprofit group Women in Sports and Events has selected Coca-Cola’s Sharon Byers, StubHub’s Danielle Maged and ESPN’s Carol Stiff as the winners of its 2013 WISE Women of the Year Awards program.

A formal announcement is scheduled for this week.The trio will be recognized at an event in New York City on June 18.

Byers is senior vice president of sports and entertainment marketing partnerships for Coca-Cola North America. Maged is global head of business development and partnerships for StubHub. Stiff is vice president of programming and acquisitions for ESPN.

The three were selected from a field of 12 finalists based on voting by WISE members. Criteria for selection include women seen as visible leaders who have influential voices for women in the industry, as well as women who help to create opportunities and serve as a resource for other women in the industry.

Additionally, WISE has selected former NBC Sports & Olympics Chairman Dick Ebersol to receive its Champion Award this year. Ebersol follows CBS’s Sean McManus last year and HBO’s Ross Greenburg in 2011 in receiving the award. The Champion Award recognizes an executive for showing consistent commitment to the promotion of women’s careers in the industry and for fostering new mentoring, networking and job opportunities.

WISE, founded in 1993, has about 1,000 members nationally.

— Staff report