Group Created with Sketch.
Volume 21 No. 2
  • Created with Sketch.
  • Created with Sketch.
  • Created with Sketch.

2013 Sports Business Awards Nominees

ESPN, NBC Sports each receive four nominations

The nominees are set for the sixth annual Sports Business Awards, which will be presented during a live ceremony May 22 at the New York Marriott Marquis at Times Square.

ESPN and NBC Sports Group garnered the most nominations, with four each, while CAA Sports, IMG, the NFL and Wasserman Media Group each are nominated for three awards. Overall, 74 nominees are up for awards across 15 categories. The awards recognize outstanding achievements in sports business from March 1, 2012, to Feb. 28, 2013.

Each of the nominees listed below will be featured in a special Sports Business Awards preview issue that will be published May 20.

Now a panel of sports industry executives will study the nominations and serve as category judges. Those executives, and members representing SportsBusiness Journal/Daily, will evaluate the nominees and determine the winners of 13 of the 15 categories by private vote.

The winners of Executive of the Year and Athletic Director of the Year will continue to be judged solely by the editorial staffs of SportsBusiness Journal/Daily.

For more information on the awards, visit

Sports Executive of the Year

Scott Blackmun, U.S. Olympic Committee
Mark Lazarus, NBC Sports Group
John Skipper, ESPN
Mark Walter, Los Angeles Dodgers/Guggenheim Baseball Partners
Melinda Witmer, Time Warner Cable

Athletic Director of the Year

Mike Holder, Oklahoma State University
Tom Jurich, University of Louisville
Mal Moore, University of Alabama
Jim Phillips, Northwestern University

Sports League of the Year

Major League Baseball
National Basketball Association
National Football League
PGA Tour
U.S. Olympic Committee

Sports Team of the Year

Oklahoma City Thunder
San Francisco 49ers
Seattle Sounders
Washington Nationals

Sports Facility of the Year

Amon G. Carter Stadium, Fort Worth, Texas
Barclays Center, Brooklyn
JetBlue Park, Fort Myers, Fla.
Marlins Park, Miami
Pauley Pavilion, Los Angeles

Sports Event of the Year

2012 Ryder Cup
2012 Stanley Cup Finals
2012 U.S. Olympic Trials — Swimming
2012 U.S. Grand Prix

Best in Sports Media

Fox Sports Media Group
National Football League
NBC Sports Group
Turner Sports

Best in Sports Television

CBS Sports
NBC Sports Group
Pac-12 Networks
Time Warner Cable Sports

Best in Digital Sports Media

ESPN Digital Media
NBC Sports Group
NFL Digital Media
USA Today Sports Media Group
Yahoo Sports

Best in Talent Representation and Management

CAA Sports
Excel Sports Management
IMG Worldwide
The Legacy Agency
Wasserman Media Group

Best in Corporate Consulting, Marketing and Client Services

CAA Sports
GMR Marketing
IMG Consulting
The Marketing Arm
Wasserman Media Group

Best in Property Consulting, Sales and Client Services

AEG Global Partnerships
CAA Sports
IMG Worldwide
Wasserman Media Group

Best in Sports Event and Experiential Marketing

BaAM Productions
Momentum Worldwide
SportsMark Management Group
Team Epic

Sports Sponsor of the Year

BMW of North America
Coca-Cola North America
Pepsi Beverages Co.

Best in Sports Technology

MLB Advanced Media
Pointstreak 5050