National Rugby League: No Need For Confusion As Obstruction Rule Unchanged
National Rugby League Head of Football Todd Greenberg said that "players and coaches should not be confused by the obstruction rule, even after the league admitted another crucial refereeing mistake" on Tuesday -- its third in a week, according to Margie McDonald of THE AUSTRALIAN. This time "it was the obstruction rule." Greenberg said that "video referee Bernard Sutton had made the wrong call in awarding Kieran Foran a try for Manly in the win over North Queensland." Greenberg said that "the obstruction rule had remained the same for 12 months." If the referee "believes a defending player is impeded from making a tackle and or the defensive line is disadvantaged then a penalty should be awarded." Greenberg said, “Naturally, when referees use their discretion there will be debate from time to time" (THE AUSTRALIAN, 4/23). In Melbourne, Adrian Proszenko wrote referees' boss Tony Archer said he had "real questions" over the decision on Saturday and a full review of the match confirmed his suspicions. The obstruction rule, and its interpretations, "threatened to overshadow an Easter weekend of football which drew record crowds for the Bulldogs-Rabbitohs and Eels-Tigers blockbusters" (THE AGE, 4/22).