Group Created with Sketch.
Volume 6 No. 215


China's national TV station CCTV and its advertising arm CCTV Future Advertising announced a multi-year partnership with NBA China that will see the expansion of NBA coverage and the formation of a joint media team to market and promote NBA game broadcasts. The deal will also include live NBA games, tape-delayed games aired in prime time and NBA original programming. The two parties will create a NBA themed weekly show with analysis produced exclusively for China. CCTV5 will air live games each week on Tuesday, Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday. CCTV5 will also live cast the Eastern and Western Conference finals, the NBA Finals and NBA All-Star events (NBA).

Australia's Channel Nine "has parted ways" with sports commentator Simon O'Donnell after 25 years, according to Darryl Timms of the HERALD SUN. O'Donnell said that "he was a victim of the network's salary cap." He said that he had "great memories of his work" with Nine and described "it as a sad day." O'Donnell was a cricket commentator, covered football and "thrived in the network's Spring Carnival racing coverage." O'Donnell: "There was no room in the salary cap for me" (HERALD SUN, 11/21). Meanwhile in Sydney, Nick Leys noted ESPN hired former Fairfax Media journalist Greg Growden as a writer and analyst. Growden "will appear on TV as well as online and provide southern hemisphere expertise to ESPN's coverage." He will cover RBS Six Nations Rugby, Super Rugby and the British & Irish Lions tours in '13 (THE AUSTRALIAN, 11/20).

The South African Broadcasting Corp. and the Premier Soccer League have signed a five-year radio broadcasting rights deal. Under the agreement, 11 SABC radio stations will continue with their traditional broadcasting of PSL matches live on radio, and will introduce new magazine programs focused on the PSL (SAPA, 11/19). ... Int'l media rights company MP & Silva has secured a direct deal with the EPL to distribute the media rights of live broadcasting to the Premier League for the next three seasons, in Indonesia, New Zealand and 15 Pacific Islands (EPL).