Early Sochi medalists make big jumps on Twitter

Slopestyle gold-medalist Sage Kotsenburg
After the first week of the Sochi Games, some of the biggest jumps in terms of number of Twitter followers were seen by gold-medalist snowboarders Sage Kotsenburg and Jamie Anderson. The combination of winning early events and great media coverage saw them both in the top five of most-added followers for American athletes.

Among other popular athletes on Twitter, snowboarder Shaun White added more than 89,000 followers to see his dominance in social media continue even as he failed to medal. Figure skaters Gracie Gold and Ashley Wagner also saw large jumps in popularity to round out the top five (see chart, below) and could see more followers with individual event success this coming week.

On the international front, outspoken Canadian snowboarder Mark McMorris is enjoying a massive popularity bump on Twitter, adding more than 100,000 followers after winning the bronze in slopestyle. Popular British snowboarder Jenny Jones saw the second-most additions with more than 46,000 after also bringing home a medal.

    Feb. 5 Feb. 13  
Top 5 Most Additions Twitter Handle Twitter Followers Twitter Followers ADDITIONS
Shaun White @shaun_white 1,258,623 1,348,363 89,740
Sage Kotsenburg @sagekotsenburg 7,425 61,846 54,421
Gracie Gold @GraceEGold 25,286 57,185 31,899
Jamie Anderson @Jme_Anderson 11,490 43,036 31,546
Ashley Wagner @AshWagner2010 29,714 56,141 26,427
 
Figure Skating
Gracie Gold @GraceEGold 25,286 57,185 31,899
Ashley Wagner @AshWagner2010 29,714 56,141 26,427
Meryl Davis @Meryl_Davis 20,873 34,497 13,624
Charlie White @CharlieaWhite 18,435 30,196 11,761
Charlie White @CharlieaWhite 18,435 30,196 11,761
Jason Brown @jasonbskates 10,013 16,157 6,144
Jeremy Abbott @jeremyabbottpcf 26,240 29,784 3,544
Maia Shibutani @MaiaShibutani 12,681 15,869 3,188
Alex Shibutani @AlexShibutani 13,651 16,513 2,862
 
Skiing
Julia Mancuso @JuliaMancuso 54,016 66,557 12,541
Gus Kensworthy @guskenworthy 13,606 25,816 12,210
Nick Goepper @NickGoepper 11,164 21,624 10,460
Bode Miller @MillerBode 37,407 47,834 10,427
Bobby Brown @Bobby_Brown1 33,189 38,327 5,138
Ted Ligety @tedligety 42,807 46,607 3,800
Mikaela Shiffrin @MikaelaShiffrin 21,587 24,126 2,539
Torin Yater-Wallace @TorinWallace 13,654 15,949 2,295
Kikkan Randall @kikkanimal 11,165 12,329 1,164
 
Speedskating
Shani Davis @ShaniDavis 14,681 20,894 6,213
JR Celski @jrcelski 20,828 26,936 6,108
Lauren Cholewinski @LMCHOLEWINSKI 17,896 18,167 271
 
Snowboarding
Shaun White @shaun_white 1,258,623 1,348,363 89,740
Sage Kotsenburg @sagekotsenburg 7,425 61,846 54,421
Jamie Anderson @Jme_Anderson 11,490 43,036 31,546
Kaitlyn Farrington @KaitlynFarr 2,370 10,831 8,461
Hannah Teter @hannahteter 26,980 34,289 7,309
Danny Davis @theDDeadshow 18,064 23,738 5,674
Kelly Clark @Kellyclarkfdn 14,469 19,310 4,841
Greg Bretz @gregbretzz 10,100 12,382 2,282
Scotty Lago @scottylago 42,002 44,100 2,098
 
Bobsled
Johnny Quinn @JohnnyQuinnUSA 14,073 25,673 11,600
Lolo Jones @lolojones 378,543 385,149 6,606
Dallas Robinson @DRobUSA 9,445 11,874 2,429
Steven Holcomb @StevenHolcomb 13,112 13,880 768
 
Women's Hockey
Hillary Knight @Hilary_Knight 14,785 23,657 8,872

Return to top

Related Topics:

Twitter, Media, Olympics

« Previous  |  Main  |  Next »
Video Powered By - Castfire CMS Powered By - Sitecore

Report a Bug