SBJ/20100913/Opinion

Editorial changes add depth to our coverage

We have made some changes in our editorial department and wanted to share details with you.

First, SportsBusiness Journal and SportsBusiness Daily welcome Fred Dreier as a reporter in our New York City office. Dreier is a graduate of the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism and worked at VeloNews from 2005 to 2009, covering stories in 13 countries on six continents. He has worked for Inside Triathlon magazine and Triathlete magazine. Dreier will cover hockey, soccer and endurance sports.

Meanwhile, several other writers are adding or switching beats. Tripp Mickle has relocated to the Charlotte office and will take over the motorsports beat from Michael Smith as well as maintain his Olympic and action sports responsibilities. Smith keeps college sports and adds golf and lacrosse, three beats we see as significant growth areas. Bill King will handle boxing and mixed martial arts and maintain his role as senior writer. He also will be our point person on sports business education programs.

We believe these changes will provide more quality and depth in our coverage. Below is a list of staff writers, their contact information and their beats:

 

Fred Dreier
(212) 500-0719
fdreier@sportsbusinessjournal.com
Endurance sports, hockey, soccer
Tripp Mickle
(704) 973-1445
tmickle@sportsbusinessjournal.com
Action sports, motorsports, Olympics
Eric Fisher
(212) 500-0717
efisher@sportsbusinessjournal.com
Baseball, digital media
Liz Mullen
(310) 322-8711
lmullen@sportsbusinessjournal.com
Horse racing, labor/agents
Daniel Kaplan
(212) 500-0722
dkaplan@sportsbusinessjournal.com
Finance, football (NFL), tennis
Don Muret
(704) 973-1426
dmuret@sportsbusinessjournal.com
Facilities
Bill King
(704) 973-1412
bking@sportsbusinessjournal.com
Boxing, mixed martial arts,
sports business education
John Ourand
(212) 500-0723
jourand@sportsbusinessjournal.com
TV/media
Terry Lefton
(212) 500-0718
tlefton@sportsbusinessjournal.com
Licensing/merchandising,
sponsorship/marketing
Michael Smith    
(704) 973-1418    
msmith@sportsbusinessjournal.com
Colleges, golf, lacrosse
John Lombardo
(312) 873-2217
jlombardo@sportsbusinessjournal.com
Basketball, football (AFL)
 

 

Return to top
Video Powered By - Castfire CMS Powered By - Sitecore

Report a Bug