SBJ/January 9 - 15, 2006/SBJ In Depth

How the NCAA works: Breaking down the organizational structure

The NCAA governance structure is made up of more than 125 committees.

Associationwide committees, which are highlighted below, deal with issues that affect all members of the NCAA and perform duties necessary to the ongoing operation of the association. These committees are made up of members from each of the NCAA’s divisions and subdivisions of Division I.

NCAA Executive Committee

Chairman: Walter Harrison, University of Hartford

Responsibility: Ensures that each division operates consistently with the basic purposes, fundamental policies and general principles of the NCAA

Other members of the Executive Committee are: Ronald D. Wellman, Wake Forest University; G. Wayne Clough, Georgia Institute of Technology; John D. Welty, California State University, Fresno; Martin C. Jischke, Purdue University; Michael F. Adams, University of Georgia; Peter Likins, University of Arizona; Philip E. Austin, University of Connecticut; Shirley Raines, University of Memphis; Sidney McPhee, Middle Tennessee State University; Clinton Bristow Jr., Alcorn State University; Daniel Curran, University of Dayton; Robert Fisher, Belmont University; Kathryn A. Martin, University of Minnesota, Duluth; Paul H. Engelmann, Central Missouri State University; Arthur F. Kirk Jr., Saint Leo University; Ivory Nelson, Lincoln University (Pennsylvania); Michael Miranda, Plattsburgh State University of New York; and Phillip C. Stone, Bridgewater College (Virginia)

Executive Committee Subcommittee on Gender and Diversity Issues

Chairman: Clinton Bristow Jr., Alcorn State University

Responsibility: Provides review and recommendations to the Executive Committee regarding gender, minority and youth issues and overall student-athlete welfare

Competitive Safeguards and Medical Aspects of Sports Committee

Chairman: Michael Krauss, M.D., Purdue University

Responsibility: Promotes a healthy and safe environment for student athletes through research, education, collaboration and policy development. The committee includes the subcommittees of a) Drug-Education and Drug-Testing, chaired by Don Kaverman, Southeast Missouri State University; and b) Sports Sciences Safety, chaired by Jerry Weber, University of Nebraska, Lincoln

Honors Committee

Chairman: Valerie A. Richardson, University of California, Santa Barbara

Responsibility: Receives nominations and selects the recipients of the Theodore Roosevelt, Silver Anniversary, Top VIII, Award of Valor and Inspiration awards

Minority Opportunities and Interests Committee

Chairman: Robert C. Vowels Jr., Southwestern Athletic Conference

Responsibility: Reviews issues and policies related to the interests of ethnic minority student athletes

Olympic Sports Liaison Committee

Chairman: Kyle B. Kallander, Big South Conference

Responsibility: Acts as liaison with the USOC and the national governing bodies

Playing Rules Oversight Panel

Chairman: Jill Wilson, Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Responsibility: Reviews proposals forwarded by each of the rules committees

Postgraduate Scholarship Committee

Chairman: Marchelle Lane, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Responsibility: Selects scholarship winners (29 men and 29 women each sports season — 174 each academic year)

Research Committee

Chairman: Michael Miranda, Plattsburgh State University of New York

Responsibility: Makes recommendations to the Executive Committee regarding spending NCAA money for research projects; makes recommendations to the Management Councils concerning research topics in intercollegiate athletics

Sportsmanship and Ethical Conduct Committee

Chairman: Ralph Reynolds, Indiana University, Bloomington

Responsibility: Develops and promotes strategies that foster a collegial atmosphere and a greater acceptance of the values of respect, caring, fairness, civility, honesty, integrity and responsibility among student athletes, coaches, officials, fans and related groups

Walter Byers Scholarship Committee

Chairman: Robert W. Thomas, University of Missouri, Kansas City

Responsibility: Plans and administers the NCAA’s Walter Byers Scholarship program for student athletes who have distinguished themselves academically and athletically

Committee on Women’s Athletics

Chairman: Darlene Bailey, Missouri State University

Responsibility: Provides leadership and assistance to the membership of the NCAA in its efforts to provide equitable opportunities, fair treatment and respect for women in all aspects of intercollegiate athletics

Student-Athlete Advisory Committees

Division I: Ian Gray, University of Nebraska, Lincoln

Division II: John Semeraro, Saint Leo University

Division III: Sameer Khan, Fairleigh Dickinson University, Florham

Responsibility: Enhances the total student-athlete experience by promoting opportunity, protecting student-athlete welfare and fostering a positive student-athlete image

Return to top

Related Topics:


Video Powered By - Castfire CMS Powered By - Sitecore

Report a Bug