Currency Converter

Enter amount in full numerical value, without currency symbol or commas (ex: 3000000).


SBD Global/June 28, 2013/Leagues and Governing Bodies

New Scottish Top Division Football League To Be Called The Premiership

Scotland's top division "will be formally named The Premiership, one of a series of decisions confirmed" at the birth of the Scottish Professional Football League, according to Michael Grand of the HERALD SCOTLAND. The new SPFL will end the 15-year-old Scottish Premier League and the 123-year-old Scottish Football League "as separate governing bodies and take control of four divisions called The Premiership, The Championship, League One and League Two." The SPL and SFL clubs are expected "to decide who will represent them on the new nine-man SPFL board, before that board is constituted and holds its first meeting." The board will consist of three "SPL" club representatives, two from the current first division, one to represent the 20 current second and third division clubs, a chairman, CEO and one further non-exec director. It is unclear whether Rangers "will put a representative forward to act for the second and third division." SPL Chair Ralph Topping, who had indicated he intended to step down from the role during last season, "is likely to be appointed as the SPFL's first chairman so that the new body has a familiar and experienced figurehead for at least its early months" (HERALD SCOTLAND, 6/27).
Return to top
Video Powered By - Castfire CMS Powered By - Sitecore

Report a Bug