Currency Converter

Enter amount in full numerical value, without currency symbol or commas (ex: 3000000).


SBD Global/November 7, 2012/International Football

Singapore's 2013 S-League Season To Open With 12 Teams, New Format

Singapore's 2013 Great Eastern-YEO'S S-League will kick off with 12 teams after Gomak United's pull-out was confirmed on Tuesday evening, according to Fabius Chen of the STRAITS TIMES. Several other changes were also announced for next season. The most significant change is a new competition format, which will see the football league "split into two groups of six, based on their ranking at the end of the regular two-round season." The teams will then play each other in their respective groups -- first to sixth and seventh to 12th -- to determine the final league standings. Other changes include "an increase in the foreign player quota from four to five, a change in the league's mandatory fitness test from the beep test to a 2.4km run, as well as an increase in prize money" (STRAITS TIMES, 11/6).
Return to top

Related Topics:

Asia, International Football

Video Powered By - Castfire CMS Powered By - Sitecore

Report a Bug